Maverick: running from 18 November to 12 December  at 231 Westbourne Grove, London W11 2SE. The show explores the theme of continuity and change in design over the past quarter century. www.themesandvariation.com, 020 7727 5531

Embellished: the Art of Fabulous Fabrics at Harris Museum & Art Gallery Preston. The exhibition brings together some of the finest examples of embroidery, printing and weaving of the Harris Museum & Art Gallery collection. It explored the patterns used to embellish fabric and the techniques that make this possible. 14th November – November 2010. Harris Museum & Art Gallery, Market Square, Preston, Lancashire, PR1 2PP. www.harrismuseum.org.uk.

David Hockney Exhibition. A major exhibition of over 60 works by David Hockney. 14th November – 24th January. Nottingham Contemporary, c/o Galleries of Justice, Shire Hall, High Pavement, Nottingham, NG1 1HN. www.nottinghamcontemporary.org.

Blackwell, The Arts & Crafts House. Exhibition: Catching the light: Contemporary Glass. 13th November – 3rd January 2010.  Blackwell, The Arts & Crafts House, Bowness-on-Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 3JT. www.blackwell.org.uk.

ING Discerning Eye Exhibition 2009 – small works independently selected by 6 prominent figures from the art world including Jackie Wullschlager and Julius Bryant at the Mall Galleries, London SW1 from 12-22 Nov.  www.discerningeye.org

Winter Fine Art show including works by Lucy Pratt, Rosa Sepple, Ishbel McWhirter and Emrys Williams at Jamandic Fine Art, 22 Bridge Street Row, Chester until Jan 2010.  01244 312822

CLOSING SOON

Europe and the English Baroque: Architecture in England 1660-1715. Victoria and Albert Museum, Cromwell Road, London (020 7942 2000) Until 10th November.

Portraits from an eighteenth-century artistic circle. Comparing painted and sculptured portraits of Louis Francois Roubiliac and David Garrick. 15th August – 14th November. Gallery 4, Henry Moore Institute, 74 The Headrow, Leeds LS1 3AH, www.henry-moore.ac.uk.

Still lives, interiors and landscapes by John Maddison. The Jerram Gallery, Half Moon Street, Sherborne. Dorset,  DT9 3LN, 01935 815261. 30th October – 14th November. www.jerramgallery.com.

Lynn Chadwick, Out of the Shadows: Unseen Sculptures of the 1960’s. The most complete survey of Chadwick’s inventive abstract works ever realised. London, 15th September – 8th November, Gloucestershire, 19th September – 13th November. Pangolin London, Kings Place, 90 York Way, London, N1 9AG. 020 7520 1480. www.pangolinlondon.com. Gallery Pangolin, Chalford, Near Stroud, GL6 8NT. 01453 889765. www.gallery-pangolin.com.

John Maddison – new work – still lives, interiors, landscapes – at the Jerram Gallery, Sherborne 30 Oct-14 Nov.  01935 815261

Hughie O’Donoghue, The Journey. Hughie O’Donoghue, an artist deeply embedded in the history of painting exhibits some of his powerful figurative paintings and drawings often draw from the old master. The Exhibition also includes O’Donoghue’s more recent work paintings, which incorporate the use of photographic compositions into the surface of his work. 11th September – 15th November. Leeds Art Gallery, The Headrow, Leeds, LS1 3AA. www.leeds.gov.uk/artgallery.

Aspire 2 Eat, Feast for the Eyes. Miss Marie Edwards is hosting an 8 week art extravaganza alongside other local artists. 15th September – 10th November. For information contact Miss Marie Edwards, 07899741185.

Utmost Fidelity, the first retrospective of Marianne and Adrian Stokes, at the Royal Cornwall Museum, Truro and the Penlee House Museum, Penzance to 28 November.  www.royalcornwallmuseum.org.uk

Eduardo Paolozzi – screenprints 1967-2000 at Sims Reed Gallery, London from 21 Oct until 13 Nov.  gallery@simsreed.com