Tim Hayward: Pecking Order. Jonathan Cooper’s Park Walk Gallery, Park Walk Gallery,
20 Park Walk,
 London (020 7351 0410) 8th April until 2nd May.

Henry VIII: A 500th Anniversary Exhibition. A special exhibition to mark Henry VIII’s accession to the throne. The Drawings Gallery, Windsor Castle (020 7766 7304; www.royalcollection.org.uk) 8th April until 18th April

Hidden Treasures from the Mary Rose. Major exhibition in celebration of the quincentenary of Henry VIII’s accession to the throne. Showing with the Whitgift Conference Centre, Haling Park, South Croydon, Surrey (01273 674692) 7th April until 7th August.

James Ravilious: An English Eye. Photographs of rural life in North Devon to mark the 10th anniversary of the artist’s death. National Theatre, South Bank, London (020 7452 3400; www.nationaltheatre.org.uk) 6th April until 16th May.

The Whitechapel Boys. Work from influential figures who contributed to the beginnings of British Modernism. Whitechapel Gallery, 77-82 Whitechapel High Street, London (www.whitechapelgallery.org) April until June

Phil Travers: “Pastoral Landscapes”, Exhibition Room, Waterside Gallery, Street-an-Pol, St Ives, Cornwall.  6th April – 3rd May 2009.

“The Scottish colourists”, The Scottish Gallery, 16 Dundas Street Edinburgh 0131 558 1200; www.scottish-gallery.co.uk.  8 April – 2 May 2009

“Painters in Bronze”.  Limited edition bronzes by some of Scotland’s best known painters and printmakers.  The Scottish Gallery, 16 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6HZ; 0131 588 1200.  8 April – 2 May 2009

Marchela  Dimitrova – Bulgarian icon painter. “Village in the Valley” exhibition White House Farm, Saxmundham, Suffolk.  11 April – 9 May 2009.

“The Forest Floor…and beyond”: An exhibition of natural artworks by Pamela Hurwitz.  The Ashdown Forest Centre, Wych Cross, Forest Row, East Sussex. RH18 5JP (01342 823583; www.ashdownforest.org).  10 April – 20 July 2009

Sviatoslav Dereka: First exhibition in London by the Ukranian master, who was inspired by Ukranian folk art and by the Russian avant-garde, and whose work also shows influences of cubism, futurism and fauvism.  Chambers Gallery, 23 Long Lane, London EC1A 9HL (0207 778 1600; www.thechambersgallery.co.uk)  8 April – 8 May

“Handel Reveal’d”; a new exhibition exploring the life and character of George Friedrich Handel to mark the 250th anniversary of his death.  Handel House Museum, 25 Brook Street, Mayfair, London, W1K 4HB. (020 7495 1685; www.handelhouse.org)  8 April – 25 October 2009.

CLOSING SOON

Jerwood Sculpture Prize, Jerwood Space, Union Street, London. (www.jerwoodsculpture.org) Until 9th April

Zig Zag: The Path of Robert Burns. An exhibition focusing on Scottish art and literature. Aberdeen Art Gallery, Schoolhill, Aberdeen (01224 523700) Until 11th April

Philip Jackson: The Hidden Figure. A selling exhibition of Jackson’s gallery pieces. Portland Gallery, 8 Bennet Street, London (020 7493 1888; www.portlandgallery.com) Until 9th April