Dürer’s Fame. An exhibition showcasing the work of, Northern Renaissance artist, Albrecht Dürer. The exhibition includes over 30 prints, drawings and paintings. At Duff House, Aberdeenshire, Scotland. Until 13 July. www.duffhouse.org.uk 

Peter Doig: Early Works. An overview of Doig’s formative works from the 1980s and includes several paintings and drawings shown for the first time in the UK. At Michael Werner Gallery, London, W1. Until 31 May. www.michaelwerner.com (red house below)

 

Pangaea: New Art from Africa and Latin America. A major survey exhibition including work by Jack Bell Gallery artists Aboudia, Leonce Raphael Agbodjelou, Vincent Michea and Boris Nzebo. At Jack Bell Gallery, London, SW1. Until 31 August. www.jackbellgallery.com

Guiseppe Pernone: Circling. An exhibition of large scale works by Penone, many of which feature trees as central structures. At Gagosian Gallery, London, WC1. From 11 April – 31 May. www.gagosian.com

Gems of Chinese Painting: A Voyage Along the Yangzi River. Paintings from south east China dating from the 6th to the 19th centuries. The display includes the famous Admonitions Scroll and examples of rare porcelain from the region. At The British Museum, London. Until 31 August. www.britishmuseum.org

The Eclectic Show. The exhibition features international schools of art and works from many differing time periods. The works are personally selected by Matthew Hall. At Panter and Hall, London, SW1. From 10 April – 9 May. www.panterandhall.com

Kevin Sinnott: Domestic Species. The exhibition is almost a personal survey and includes the artist’s reflections on his sketches. At Flowers Gallery, London, W1. From 10 April – 17 May. www.flowersgallery.com

Capa, Europe 1943-1945, A Collection of Vintage Prints. Photographs by Robert Capa depicting the human condition during five wars; the Spanish Civil War, Second Sino-Japanese War, World War II, the 1948 Arab-Israeli War and the first Indochina War. At Daniel Blau Gallery, N1. Until 10 May. www.danielblau.com

Paris in the Springtime. A display of classic black and white images, highlighting the significance of Paris in 20th century photography. Includes works by André Kertész, Robert Doisneau, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Willy Ronis and Elliott Erwitt. At Beetles and Huxley, London, W1. From 7 April – 3 May. www.beetlesandhuxley.com

The Observant Eye, New Work by Bridget Lansley and Fiona Millais. Both artists that are exhibiting focus on condensing their subject to the essentials. At The Jerram Gallery, Sherborne, Dorset. From 12 – 30 April. www.jerramgallery.com

Lost Houses by Ed Kluz. Original works and prints by the artist that mostly feature ‘lost’ houses, former places of grandeur that have fallen into disrepair. At St Jude’s at Tinsmiths, Ledbury. From 12 April – 10 May. www.stjudesprints.co.uk/pages/exhibitions

The Sense of a Moment: Gianni Berengo Gardin. The exhibition features original prints drawn from the artist’s personal archives. Gardin’s iconic images of post war Italy will be shown along side his first photographic series of rural India. At Prahlad Bubbar, London, W1. From 11 April – 23 May. www.prahladbubbar.com

Juliana Leite at CASS Sculpture Foundation. The exhibition includes interdisciplinary and sculptural works by Leite, the exhibition coincides with the loan of Climb (2012). At CASS Sculpture Foundation, Goodwood, West Sussex. From 11 April – 1 June. www.sculpture.org.uk

Nick Botting: New Paintings. An exhibition of paintings by Botting of London and coastal England. At Portland Gallery, London, SW1. From 10 April – 2 May. www.portlandgallery.com

Gavagan Art Spring Exhibition. Still Life, Landscape, Ceramics. An Exhibition of New Work by David Thomas, Jacquie Denby and Anna Lambert. At the Linton Court Gallery, Settle, North Yorkshire. From 2 April – 17 May. www.gavaganart.com

Sir Ambrose Heal and the Heal Cabinet Factory 1897 – 1939. A selling exhibition to accompany the launch of the book of the same name. The exhibition of furniture is accompanied by an exhibition of hand spun, dyed and woven carpets of British landscapes designed by John Allen, who designed fabrics for Heals during the 1960s and 1970s. At The Millinery Works Ltd, Islington, London N1. Until 27 April. www.millineryworks.co.uk

London: The Views of Eleven Artists. Featuring works by artists including Michael Alford, Freddie Gore, Charles Cundall and Janey Sharratt. At Highgate Contemporary Art, London N6. From 9 April – 3 May. www.highgateart.com

John Wealleans: Post- Pop Epiphanies. New still lifes and interiors by Yorkshire born artist John Wealleans, inspired by objects as diverse as toys and rare Art Deco artefacts. At France Kyle Gallery, London, W1. From 9 April – 15 May. www.franciskylegallery.com

Mary Spicer: Recent Mixed Media Paintings. Landscape paintings that reflect the changing seasons in oil and acrylic. At The John Russell Gallery, Ipswich, Suffolk. From 7 April – 3 May. www.thejohnrussellgallery.co.uk

Last Post: Remembering the First World War. The exhibition explores the effect of the events of 1914 on the Post Office, its people and the contribution of postal communications to the war effort. At Coalbrookedale Gallery, Ironbridge Gorge, Shropshire. From 10 April 2014 – 27 March 2015. www.ironbridge.org.uk

Peeling Back the Years. The story of the 4th Duke of Bedford’s private bedchamber is explored through its layers of wallpaper – from the height of luxury to subsequent decline. At Woburn Abbey from 11 April – 28 September. www.woburn.co.uk

The Great British Sculpture Show 2014. An exhibition showcasing the UK ‘s top figurative sculptors in the gardens of Hatfield House. Sculptors featured include; Hamish Mackie, David Goode and Etienne Miller. At Hatfield House, Hertfordshire until 30 September. www.hatfieldhouse.co.uk

The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk. The first major exhibition devoted to the celebrated French couturier, an exhibition of his avant-garde creations and designs along with photography by collaborators such as David LaChapelle, Cindy Sherman and Andy Warhol. At Barbican Art Gallery from 9 April – 25 August. www.barbican.org.uk/artgallery

Recent Acquisitions 2014, exhibiting paintings recently acquired by Rountree Tryon Galleries, including works by Ray Ching, Sir Peter Scott and Domenica de Ferranti. At Rountree Tryon Galleries, London, SW1, from 8 April – 2 May www.rountreetryon.com

British Surrealism Unlocked: Works from the Sherwin Collection. Key British surrealist works from the extraordinary collection of Dr Jeffery Sherwin. At Abbot Hall Art Gallery, Cumbria until 21 June. www.lakelandartstrust.org.uk

The First Georgians: Art and Monarchy 1714 – 1760. Marking the 300th anniversary of the Hanoverian succession, the exhibition explores the reigns of George I and his son George II through over 300 works from the Royal Collection. At The Queen’s Gallery, Buckingham Palace, from 11 April – 12 October. www.royalcollection.org.uk

Perpetua Pope; Painter and Collector. Oil paintings and watercolours by Perpetua Pope exhibited along with works of art she collected over her lifetime. At The Scottish Gallery until 30 April. www.scottish-gallery.co.uk

France, Pays des Arts: French Paintings 1920 – 1950. The exhibition presents for the first time together works by Mildred Bendall, Roger Bissiere, Maurice Brianchon, Caziel, Andre Derain, Joseph Lacasse, Andre Lhote and Jean Lurcat. At Whitford Fine Art, London SW1 until 2 May. www.whitfordfineart.com

Still Lifes and Flowers – featuring works by Michael J Austin, Camilla Clutterbuck, Isabel Bannerman, Craig Wylie and Nicholas Turner and Roland Corbin. At the Jonathan Cooper Park Walk Gallery, London, SW10 from 11th-26th of April. www.jonathancooper.co.uk

CLOSING SOON

By George! Handel’s Music for Royal Occasions– Celebrating the 300th anniversary of George I, this exhibition explores Handel and his music for royal occasions. At The Foundling Museum, London WC1 from 7 February- 18 May. www.foundlingmuseum.org.uk/exchange

Turning the Tide: Paintings of the Yorkshire Coast by John Thornton, at Kentmere House, York until 13 April. www.kentmerehouse.co.uk

Rivals: Matisse and Picasso– Aiden Meller Modernism presents this exhibition revealing the idea that Matisse and Picasso were the very best of enemies. The idea is that the viewer is given the opportunity to trace the differences between their two modernisms but also their similarities. At Aiden Meller Modernism, Oxford until 14 April. www.aidenmeller.com

Great Britain – an exhibition of 50 paintings by Josephine Trotter at Gallery 8, Duke Street, St James’s, London from 25 March to 12 April.  www.jennyblythfineart.co.uk

Michael Upton – exhibition of the conceptual British artist’s work at Messum’s, Cork Street, London, W1S 3LJ until 19 April.

Paul Martin: When Men and Mountains Meet – an examination by the Edinburgh based painter of the issues facing our communities, our planet and ultimately ourselves. At the Dovecot Studios, Infirmary St, Edinburgh until 19 April. www.warburtongallery.com

Dance Elsewhere, Not on My Eyepatch – a solo exhibition of Violet Fingers’ installations concerning class, sex, identity, gender and politics at C&C Gallery, London Road, London SE23 3HF until 20 April. www.ccgallery.co.uk

An Artist in the Garden – The Royal Institute of painters in Water Colours celebrate the garden in all its glory. At the Mall Galleries, The Mall, London SW1 until 19 April. www.mallgalleries.org.uk

Subscribe to Country Life and save

* Follow Country Life magazine on Twitter