Leonardo da Vinci: Painter at the Court of Milan, at the National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, London WC2 from 9 Nov 2011 to 5 Feb 2012. www.nationalgallery.org.uk  See preview in Country Life Nov 9th.

Donald Hamilton Fraser RA (1929-2009) – From the Artist’s Studio – at Bohun Gallery, 15 Reading Road, Henley-on-Thames from 8-26 Nov. www.bohungallery.co.uk

ING Discerning Eye
Works selected by six prominent figures in the art world: two artists, two collectors and two critics. From 10 to 20 November at Mall Galleries, The Mall, London, SW1. www.mallgalleries.org.uk

Views of the West Coast of Scotland by Ethel Walker, who is known for her interpretation of light and weather on coastal landscapes. At Thackeray Gallery, 18 Thackeray Street, Kensington Square, London W8 from 8 to 25 Nov. www.thackeraygallery.com

Hubert de Watrigant – works by the well known sporting artist at the Osborne Studio Gallery, 2 Motcomb Street, London SW1 from 8 to 27 Nov. www.osg.uk.com

20th century British Art at Paisnel Gallery, 9 Bury Street, St James’s, London SW1 from 9-25 Nov. www.paisnelgallery.co.uk

Gerald Brockhurst 1890-1978; an exhibition of paintings, drawings and etchings at The Fine Art Society, 148 New Bond Street, London W1 from 9 to 30 Nov. www.faslondon.com

The ING Discerning Eye Exhibition – small works independently selected by six prominent figures from arts world: artists Eileen Cooper RA and Lisa Wright; collectors John Pluthero and John Deston; and art critics Brian Sewell and Ossian Ward, at The Mall Galleries, The Mall, London SW1 from 10-20 Nov. www.discerningeye.org

David Crone and Sean McSweeney – recent paintings at John Martin Gallery, 38 Albemarle Street, London W! from 9-26 Nov. www.jmlondon.com

First solo exhibition by Susie MacMurray, showing a variety of her new drawings, sculptures and installations at Agnew’s Gallery, 35 Albemarle Street, London W1 from 8 to 2 Dec. www.agnewsgallery.com

Weeping Landscapes: New Work by Raku potter David Roberts, inspired by a trip to South Island, New Zealand, at Lemon Street Gallery, Truro, Cornwall from 12 Nov to 3 Dec.  

Nicola Bealing’s Exhibition – at Cadogan Contemporary, 87 Old Brompton Road, London SW1 from 9 Nov to 11 Dec. www.cadogancontemporary.com

Dutch Landscapes: Paintings from the Royal Collection at The Bowes Museum, Barnard Castle from 12 Nov to 11 Mar. www.thebowesmuseum.org.uk

Royal Manuscripts: The Genius of Illumination, bringing together the British Library’s royal collection, a treasure trove of illuminated manuscripts collected by the kings and queens of England between the 9 and 16 centuries, at the British Library, Euston Road, London from 11 Nov to 13 Mar 2012. www.bl.uk/royal

Ian MacGillivray – paintings of Highland red deer by the former Inverness-shire stalker at Tryon Gallery, 7 Bury Street, London SW1 from 8 to 18 Nov. 020 7839 8083

CLOSING SOON
Keith Vaughan: An Exhibition of Gouaches, Drawings and Prints. The exhibition brings together a remarkable collection of works by Keith Vaughan, many of which have not been seen before and have come from a private collection. 20 Oct to 12 Nov. Osborne Samuel Gallery, 23A Bruton Street, London, W1J. www.osbornesamuel.com

Wessex Landscapes: Highgate Contemporary Art. A group of artists united by living and working in that part of South West England. Each artist interprets their own place but with a shared intention to convey the passion they feel for their piece of England. 26 Oct to 12 Nov. 26 Highgate High Street, London, N6. www.highgateart.com

James Lynch: The Inhabited Landscape – exhibition of twelve egg tempera landscapes and animal paintings in the artist’s first solo exhibition since 2006. From 20 October – 12 November at Jonathan Cooper Park Walk Gallery, 20 Park Walk, London, SW10 0AQ. www.jonathancooper.co.uk

Portraits in the making
A selection of promising talents, working in materials from ceramics to wood. They all first met through the Crafts Council’s Hothouse programme and include Claire Baker, Holly Berry, Sarah Elwick and Stella Harding. From 21 September until 12 November at PM Gallery & House, Walpole Park, Mattock Lane, Ealing, London W5 5EQ. www.ealing.gov.uk/pmgalleryandhouse

Perfect Pairings: Painters and Potters – an exhibition of work made by painters and potters inspired by each other at New Ashgate Gallery, Waggon Yard, Farnham, Surrey from 14 Oct to 19 Nov. www.newashgate.org.uk