Menu Search
The Community House
Property features
Email AgentEmail Agent
  • 5 bedrooms
  • 5 bathrooms
Property description
Beautifully sited on inner Rockport Harbor with desirable western views, this historic waterfront residence is located within easy walking distance of Rockport village. The main house, built circa 1880 as a sea captains house, has charming period details including elaborate plasterwork, woodwork and an original tin ceiling. Renovations conceived by renowned Camden architect Christopher Glass brought the house up to modern standards while maintaining the historic character of the building. The .92 acre property is beautifully landscaped with terraced gardens, well-established native perennials, flowering shrubs, fruit trees and mature trees; and the lawn slopes gently to the waters edge with 157 feet of accessible rocky shoreline, a small waterfront storage shed and steps leading to a pocket pebble beach. The well-built deep-water dock offers spectacular views out to Penobscot Bay and back to the village.The Community House was previously owned by philanthropist Mary Louise Curtis Bok Zimbalist. Bok-Zimbalist founded the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia named after her father, publishing entrepreneur Cyrus H.K. Curtis. In the 1930s, the world-class Curtis musicians traveled to Rockport during July and August to perform concerts and teach, and many of the students would stay at The Community House. Author Lew Dietz purchased The Community House in 1944. He was a prolific writer whose works focused on Maine and he is most famous for A Seal Called Andre about the beloved orphaned seal well-known in Rockport Harbor.
37 Mechanic Street,, Rockport, Maine, United States
More Properties From This Agent
Other Results From Your Search
People who viewed this item also viewed
Scroll To Top