Make Stonehenge a Modern Wonder

Stonehenge, the 5,000-year-old landmark on Salisbury Plain, is one of 21 finalists to be voted one of the new modern wonders of the world. The vote is being organised by the New7Wonders Foundation, which has the express aim of documenting, maintaining, restoring and reconstructing world heritage.The results of the poll will be announced on in Lisbon, Portugal, considered a neutral venue as the country has no contending landmark of its own. Twenty million votes have already been received, including many from India (Taj Mahal), China (Great Wall) and Peru (Machu Picchu).

‘People of England, it is now your turn to be heard. Support Stonehenge to become one of the New Seven Wonders of the World,’ said a spokesperson for the Foundation. European voters have been slow to vote so far, so if you want to see Stonehenge on the final list, it’s time to make your voice heard.

Votes can be made online, at, and via text message to the number 61188. You will be asked to pick seven from the list of 21 finalists.

The 21 finalists for the New Seven Wonders of the World:

1 Acropolis, Athens, Greece

2 Alhambra, Granada, Spain

3 Angkor, Cambodia

4 Chichen Itza, Yucatan, Mexico

5 Christ Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

6 Colosseum, Rome, Italy

7 Easter Island Statues, Chile

8 Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

9 Great Wall, China

10 Hagia Sophia, Istanbul, Turkey

11 Kyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan

12 Kremlin/St.Basil’s, Moscow, Russia

13 Machu Picchu, Peru

14 Neuschwanstein Castle, Fussen, Germany

15 Petra, Jordan

16 Pyramids of Giza, Egypt

17 Statue of Liberty, New York, USA

18 Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom

19 Sydney Opera House, Australia

20 Taj Mahal, Agra, India21 Timbuktu, Mali.