An American Experiment; George Bellows and the Ashcan Painters, at the National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, London from 3 Mar to 30 May. www.nationalgallery.org.uk

Katerina Seda: Lisen Profile – new work by the international contemporary artist, including a new commission for Museums Sheffield in which Katerina works with over 500 people across the Czech Republic to investigate the unspoken characteristics that link a person to the village, town, city or country they call home. At the Millennium Gallery, Arundel Gate, Sheffield from 2 Mar to 3 May. www.museums-sheffield.org.uk

Charlotte Verity: a year in Tradescant’s Garden, an exhibition of paintings and drawings by the first artist in residence at the Garden Museum, Lambeth Palace Road, London SE1 from 2 Mar to 2 May. Ww.gardenmuseum.org.uk

Afghanistan: Crossroads of the Ancient World showing over 200 objects at the British Museum, London, from 3 Mar until 3 July. www.britishmuseum.org

Neapolitan and Spanish Drawings of the Baroque, at Christ Church Picture Gallery, Christ Church, Oxford until 15 May. 01865 276172

Artist Geoff Uglow: Letters from Barra, and cartoonist Steven Appleby: Islands, both at the Scottish Gallery, 16 Dundas Street, Edinburgh from 2 Mar to 2 Apr. www.scottish-gallery.co.uk

‘Jorma Puranen- Shadows, reflections and all that sort of thing’, at Purdy Hicks Gallery, 65 Hopton Street, London SE1 from 3 to 28 Mar. www.purdyhicks.com

Drawings by Paul Emsley – The Light of Meaning – at The Redfern Gallery, 20 Cork Street, London W1 from 1 Mar to 21 Apr. www.redfern-gallery.com

Recent Watercolours by Michael Coulter at The John Russell Gallery, 4-6 Wherry Lane, Ipswich until 26 Mar. www.artone.co.uk

Man’s Best Friend – A celebration of canine art over three centuries, TheBritish Sporting Art Trust in collaboration with James Harvey British Art, at the Vestey Gallery, 99 High Street, Newmarket to coincide with Crufts, from Mar 1 to Oct 31. www.bsat.org.uk

John Fisher: Writers’ Rooms 4 – discovering the houses once occupied by some of the artist’s favourite writers and composers in France, Italy, Russia and Britain, at Francis Kyle Gallery, 9 Maddox Street, London W1 from 2 to 31 Mar. www.franciskylegallery.com

Prince Philip: Celebrating Ninety Years, bringing together photos, memorabilia, paintings and gifts selected from the Royal Collection and the Duke’s personal collection to illustrate key moments in his life, at The Drawings Gallery, Windsor Castle until 22 Jan 2012. 020 7766 7304

Works by Nancy Spero (1926-2009) at the Serpentine Gallery, Kensington Gardens, London W2 from 3 Mar to 1 May. 020 7402 6075

John Holden; Squaring the Void, at Agnew’s, 35 Albemarle Street, London W1 from 2nd to 25th Mar. www.agnewsgallery.com

Watercolour; A Celebration of Three Centuries of the English Art, at Chris Beetles, 8 & 10 Ryder Street, St James’s, London SW1 from 2 Mar to 7 May. www.chrisbeetles.com

CLOSING SOON

Window to the West; the Rediscovery of Highland Art, at City Art Centre, 2 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 until 6 Mar. 0131 529 3993

The Narrow World of Norman Cornish. Keith Pattison: No Redemption. Angela Hughes: Transitions – at Kingsplace Gallery, Kings Place, 90 York Way, London N1 until 4 Mar. www.kingsplace.co.uk

Richard Cartwright – The Other Side, bringing together nearly 40 works, at at John Martin Gallery, 38 Albemarle Street, London W1 from 9 Feb to 5 Mar. www.jmlondon.com

Journey through the afterlife: ancient Egyptian Book of the Dead at the British Museum, Great Russell Street, London WC1 until 6 Mar. www.britishmuseum.org (see feature in Country Life 3 Nov, 2010)
 
Contemporary Eye: Crossovers, a series of interventions in the 18th century house and new wing galleries by international contemporary artists exploring traditional craft techniques such as ceramics, glass, textiles, wood carving and taxidermy, including Grayson Perry, Gary Hume, Edmund de Waal, Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons and Polly Morgan. At at Pallant House Gallery, 9 North Pallant, Chichester, West Sussex until 6 March 2011. www.pallant.org.uk

Invitation to the Ballet: Ninette de Valois and the Story of The Royal Ballet is a major new exhibition showing some of L S Lowry’s ballet drawings for the first time. The life and career of Ninette de Valois ran parallel with that of LS Lowry, whose love of ballet is perhaps a surprising element of his work for those familiar simply with his industrial scenes. A collaboration between the Royal Opera House and the Lowry, the exhibition is at the Lowry, Salford until 6 March 2011. 0843 2086005 www.thelowry.com

Man Made; works by Phoebe Unwin at Wilkinson, 50-58 Vyner Street, London E2 until 6 Mar. www.wilkinsongallery.com

Freya Payne, Medals for Motherhood – her latest installation of ten sculptures carved from wood and bone ornamented with silver, gold or mother of pearl and intended to be held in the palm of the hand, at Flowers, 21 Cork Street, London W1 until 5 Mar. www.flowersgalleries.com

Eve Arnold – over 70 photographs, many rare and unusual, sourced direct from the artist at Chris Beetles Fine Photographs, 3-5 Swallow Street, London W1 until 5 Mar. www.chrisbeetlesfinephotographs.com

Royal Watercolour Society 2011 Open Competition Exhibition at Bankside Gallery, 48 Hopton Street, London SE1 until 10 Mar. www.royalwatercoloursociety.co.uk

Works by Lynn Chadwick at Osborne Samuel, 23a Bruton Street, London W1 until Mar 5. www.osbornesamuel.com

Wildlife and Sporting Art by 14 sporting artists including David Miller, Alistair Makinson, Terence Lambert, Alastair Proud, Mike Norris and Owen Williams, at the Jerram Gallery, Half Moon Street, Sherborne, Dorset until 5 March. www.jerramgallery.com

John Lines: solo exhibition at Red Rag Gallery, Church Street, Stow on the Wold, Gloucs until 6 Mar. 01451 832563