The Country Life 100 days of summer – the best 100 days to be had this summer, with Country Life magazine

May 31
The Telegraph Hay Festival begins, Hay-on-Wye, Herefordshire (01497 822629; www.hayfestival.com)

June 1
The Investec Derby Festival starts, Epsom Downs Racecourse, Surrey (01372 726311; www.epsomdowns.co.uk)
The Cotswold Olimpick Games, Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire (01789 868191; www.olimpickgames.co.uk)

June 2
The last day of the Royal Bath and West Show, Shepton Mallet, Somerset
(01749 822222; www.bathandwest.com)
* Coronation Day Gun Salute, Hyde Park, London W2

June 3
The Thames Diamond Jubilee Pageant, from Battersea Bridge to Tower Bridge, London (www.thamesdiamondjubileepageant.org)

June 4
* The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Beacons are lit nationwide, and the Diamond Jubilee Concert at Buckingham Palace
* The Summer Exhibition opens at the Royal Academy of Arts, London W1J (020-7300 8000; www.royalacademy.org.uk/summerexhibiton)
* The Surrey County Show, Guildford, Surrey (01483 890810; www.surreycountyshow.co.uk)

June 5
* Service of Thanksgiving and Carriage Procession, St Paul’s Cathedral, London EC4 (www.royal.gov.uk)

June 6
Musical spectacular by the Massed Bands of Her Majesty’s Royal Marines featuring Beating Retreat and Ceremonial Sunset, Horse Guards Parade, London SW1 (02392 312006)

June 7
* The Suffolk Show begins, Ipswich, Suffolk (01473 707110; www.suffolkshow.co.uk)
* The Royal Cornwall Show begins, Wadebridge, Cornwall (01208 812183; www.royalcornwallshow.org)
* The South of England Show begins, Ardingly, West Sussex (01444 892700; www.seas.org.uk)

June 8
Wychwood Festival begins, Cheltenham Racecourse, Gloucestershire (01993 772580; www.wychwoodfestival.com)

June 9
The Prince of the Pagodas, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London WC2. 7.30pm (020-7304 4000; www.roh.org.uk)

June 10
* The Duke of Edinburgh’s birthday
* Cambridgeshire County Show, Wimpole Home Farm, Arrington, Cambridgeshire (07758 676017; www.cambscountyshow.co.uk)

June 11
* The AEGON Tennis Championships begin, The Queen’s Club, London W14 (020-7386 3400; www.queensclub.co.uk)

June 12
* National Gardens Scheme Opening, The Charterhouse, London, EC1 (020-7253 9503; www.thecharterhouse.org)

June 13
Household Division Beating Retreat, Horse Guards Parade, London SW1 (0844 847 2435; www.guardsbeatingretreat.co.uk)

June 14
Hampton Court Palace Festival begins, Hampton Court Palace, Surrey (020-8241 9818; www.hamptoncourtpalacefestival.com)

June 15
The Three Counties Show begins, Malvern, Worcestershire (01684 584924; www.threecounties.co.uk)

June 16
The Queen’s Birthday Parade, Trooping the Colour, Horse Guards Parade, London SW1

June 17
North Yorkshire County Show, Otterington Hall, North Yorkshire (www.northyorkshireshow.co.uk)

June 18
The Garter Ceremony, Windsor Castle, Berkshire

June 19

* Royal Ascot begins, Ascot Racecourse, Berkshire (0844 346 3000; www.ascot.co.uk)
* The Veuve Clicquot Gold Cup begins, Cowdray Park, Midhurst, West Sussex (01730 813257; www.cowdraypolo.co.uk)

June 20
The British Jumping Derby Meeting begins, Hickstead, West Sussex (01273 834315; www.hickstead.co.uk)

June 21
London 2012 Festival begins, various venues, London (0845 267 2012; http://festival.london2012.com)

June 22
‘Turner, Monet, Twombly’ opens, Tate Liverpool, Liverpool (0151-7027 400; www.tate.org.uk/visit/tate-liverpool)

June 23
The Petworth Food Festival begins, Petworth, West Sussex (www.oakleighfairs.co.uk/petworth-food/)

June 24
Old Buckenham Airshow, Old Buckenham Airfield, Norfolk (01953 860806; www.oldbuckenhamairshow.co.uk)

June 25
Wimbledon 2012 Championship begins, Wimbledon, London SW19 (020-8971 2473; www.wimbledon.com)

June 26
Ladies Day at Lamport Hall, Northamptonshire (01604 686272; www.lamporthall.co.uk)

June 27
Henley Royal Regatta begins, Henley, Oxfordshire (01491 572153; www.hrr.co.uk)

June 28
‘Edvard Munch: The Modern Eye’ opens, Tate Modern, London SE1 (020-7887 8888; www.tate.org.uk)

June 29
The Game and Wildlife Conservation Trust Scottish Game Fair begins, Scone Palace, Perthshire (01738 554826; www.scottishfair.com)

June 30
Armed Forces Day, various venues nationwide (www.armedforcesday.org.uk)

July 1
The last day of The Festival of Speed, Goodwood House, Goodwood, West Sussex (01243 755055; www.goodwood.co.uk/festival-of-speed)

July 2
Local Food Heroes Festival, Hampshire (01962 846509; www.hampshirefare.co.uk)

July 3
Hampton Court Palace Flower Show, Hampton Court Palace, Surrey (0844 338 7506; www.rhs.org.uk)

July 4
Grimm’s Fairy Tales family theatre event, Waterperry Gardens, Oxfordshire (01844 339254; www.waterperrygardens.co.uk)

July 5
RHS Evening Opening, Goren Farm, Honiton, Devon (01404 881335; www.goren.co.uk)

July 6
The Formula 1 Santander British Grand Prix begins, Silverstone, Northamptonshire (0844 3750 740; www.silverstone.co.uk)

July 7
Coventry Summer Fayre, The Myton Hospice, Coventry (01927 838831; www.mytonhospice.org)

July 8
The Wimbledon 2012 Men’s Singles Final, Wimbledon, London SW19 (020-8971 2473; www.wimbledon.com)

July 9
‘Craig Askew-Seascapes’ opens, Lutyens Gallery, Hestercombe Gardens, Taunton, Somerset (01823 669632; www.hestercombe.com)

July 10
The Great Yorkshire Show begins, Harrogate, Yorkshire (01423 541000; www.greatyorkshireshow.co.uk)

July 11
Larmer Tree Festival begins, Salisbury, Wiltshire (01725 552300; www.larmertreefestival.co.uk)

July 12
Tabley Summer Concert, Tabley House, Knutsford, Cheshire (01565 750151; www.tableyhouse.co.uk)

July 13
The Proms begin, The Royal Albert Hall, London SW7 (www.bbc.co.uk/proms)

July 14
* The Farnborough International Air Show begins (0844 858 6752; www.farnborough.com)
* Bedfordshire County Show begins, Old Warden Park, Bedfordshire (07850 195622; www.bedfordshirecountyshow.co.uk)

July 15
St Swithin’s Day

July 16
* Royal Swan Upping begins, Sunbury Lock, Surrey (www.royalswan.co.uk)

July 17
The Longines Royal International Horse Show, Hickstead, West Sussex (01273 834315; www.hickstead.co.uk)

July 18
* The Festival of Hunting, East of England Showground, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire (01733 234451; www.eastofengland.org.uk/festivalofhunting/hunting.html)

July 19
The Open Championship begins, Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club, Lancashire (www.theopen.com)

July 20
The CLA Game Fair begins, Belvoir Castle, Grantham, Leicestershire (0845 6122 052; www.gamefair.co.uk)

July 21
Go rockpooling on the Isles of Scilly (01720 422153; www.ios-wildlifetrust.org.uk)

July 22
The HPA International Day, Guards Polo Club, Windsor Great Park, Berkshire (01784 437797; www.guardspoloclub.com)

July 23
The Royal Welsh Show begins, Llanelwedd, Powys (01982 553683; www.rwas.co.uk)

July 24
Art Deco Tours, Eltham Palace, Greenwich, London SE9
(020-82942548; www.english-heritage.org.uk)

July 25
The Penzance Literary Festival begins, various venues, Penzance, Cornwall (www.penzance-literary-festival.org.uk)

July 26
Bournemouth Family Funday, Meyrick Park, Bournemouth, Dorset (01202 456295; www.bournemouth.co.uk)

July 27
The London 2012 Olympics Opening Ceremony, The Olympic Stadium, London E20 (www.london2012.com)

July 28
* Olympic rowing, Eton Dorney, Berkshire
* Olympic eventing, Greenwich Park, London SE10
* Olympic tennis, Wimbledon, London SW19
(www.london2012.com)

July 29
Olympic sailing, Weymouth Bay and Portland Harbour, Dorset (www.london2012.com)

July 30
Tremendous Trees children’s activity day, Dudmaston Hall, Shropshire (01746 780866; www.nationaltrust.org.uk) CHECK AT LAYOUT

July 31
Glorious Goodwood begins, Goodwood Racecourse, West Sussex ((01243 755055; www.goodwood.co.uk)

August 1
The Fairy Queen, Glyndebourne, Lewes, East Sussex (01273 813813; http://glyndebourne.com)

August 2
Olympic Dressage, Greenwich Park, London SE10 (www.london2012.com)

August 3
Edinburgh Festival Fringe begins, various venues, Edinburgh (0131-226 0026; www.edfringe.com)

August 4
Olympic Women’s 100m final, The Olympic Stadium, London E20 (www.london2012.com)

August 5
Olympic Men’s 100m final, The Olympic Stadium, London E20 (www.london2012.com)

August 6
The Piping Live! Festival, various venues, Glasgow (0141-353 0220; www.pipinglive.co.uk)

August 7
The Diamond Jubilee Exhibition, Houghton Hall, King’s Lynn, Norfolk (01485 528569; www.houghtonhall.com)

August 8
Summer Wednesday Family Day, Ludlow Castle, Ludlow, Shropshire (01584 874465; www.ludlowcastle.com)

August 9
The Huddersfield Food and Drink Festival begins, St George’s Square, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire (01484 480890; www.htcpl.org.uk/foodanddrinkfestival)

August 10
The 169th Sovereign’s Parade, Royal Military Academy Sandhurst, Surrey

August 11
Aberdeen Asset Management Cowes Week begins, Cowes, The Isle of Wight (01983 295 744; www.cowesweek.co.uk)

August 12
* The Glorious Twelfth
* The Olympic closing ceremony, The Olympic Park, London E20 (www.london2012.com)

August 13
The Woodland Olympics, Abriachan Forest, Abriachan, Inverness-shire (01463 710786; www.highland.gov.uk)

August 14
The Pembrokeshire County Show begins, County Showground, Pembrokeshire (01437 764331; www.pembsshow.org)

August 15
‘Victorian Storytelling On Board HMS Warrior 1860′, Portsmouth Dockyard, Portsmouth, Hampshire (02392 728060; www.historicdockyard.co.uk)

August 16
‘Return of The Ring: Celebrating Tolkein in 2012′ begins, Loughborough University, Loughborough (www.returnofthering.org)

August 17
Just So Festival begins, Rode Hall Parkland, Cheshire (www.justsofestival.org.uk)

August 18
England v South Africa, Third Investec Test Match, Lord’s, London NW8 (020-7432 1000; www.lords.org)

August 19
Working Woodlands Event, Templeton Woods Visitors Centre, Dundee (01382 431848; www.dundee.com)

August 20
Tim Porter on ‘Thomas Tallis and the music of Reformation England’, St Mary’s Church, Sudeley Castle, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire (01242 774400; www.cheltenhamfestivals.com)

August 21
Golf Open Week begins, Bowood Golf and Country Club, Wiltshire (01249 812102; www.bowood-house.co.uk)

August 22
The Arundel Festival, Arundel Castle, Arundel, West Sussex (01903 882173; www.arundelcastle.org)

August 23
The Melplash Show, Bridport, Dorset (01308 423337; www.melplashshow.co.uk)

August 24
The Northern Meeting’s Summer and Picnic Ball, Roskill, Munlochy, ross-shire (www.northern-meeting.org)

August 25
The Torbay Regatta begins, Torbay, Devon (01803 292006; www.torbayweek.co.uk)

August 26
Best of British Show begins, Cotswold Airport, Cirencester, Gloucestershire (01285 771177; www.bestofbritishshow.co.uk)

August 27
Last day of the Oxfordshire Classic Car Show, Blenheim Palace, Oxfordshire (01993 810530; www.blenheimpalace.com)

August 28
Art, book and gift bazaar, The Assembly Rooms, Glastonbury, Somerset (01458 834677; www.assemblyrooms.org.uk)

August 29
The Paralympics Opening Ceremony, The Olympic Stadium, London    E20
(www.london2012.com/paralympic-sport)

August 30
The Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials begin, Burghley House, Stamford, Lincolnshire (01780 752131; www.burghley-horse.co.uk)

August 31
War Horse exhibition, National Army Museum, London SW3 (020-7881 6606; www.nam.ac.uk)

September 1
Burton Agnes Fete begins, Burton Agnes Hall, Driffield, East Yorkshire (01262 490324; www.burtonagnes.com)

September 2
Heritage Craft Course, Howsham Mill, Howsham, North Yorkshire (01653 658462; www.howshammill.ning.com)

September 3
Fountains Abbey tour, Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden, Ripon, Yorkshire (01765 608888; www.fountainsabbey.org.uk)

September 4
Livestock 2012 begins, The NEC, Birmingham (0845 458 2711; www.livestockevent.co.uk)

September 5
‘Sport at Shugborough’ exhibition, Shugborough Estate, Stafford, Staffordshire (0845 459 8900; www.shugborough.org.uk)

September 6
The Fidelity Blenheim Palace International Horse Trials begin, Blenheim Palace, Oxfordshire (01993 813335; www.blenheim-horse.co.uk)