The Old Hall, East Layton is quite literally, Yorkshire?s oldest house. The Anglo-Norman house dates back to the 12th century when it was a simple timber framed hall. The first firm date in the historical development of the Old Hall is 1623 when Sir Thomas Layton refurbished the ancient building and placed his crest over the door.
In 1885 Nikolaus Pevsner mentioned it in his book The Buildings of England and Plantagenet Harrison described the property as ?undoubtedly the most ancient and most curious old house I have yet met with,? in his book The History of Yorkshire, 1885.
The property has a wealth of interesting aspects including mullioned windows, oak panelling and a moated medieval manorial site ? now a Scheduled Monument. The site is all that remains of the ancient settlement of East Layton as referred to in the Doomsday Book, and in terms of period features, Sir Thomas?s crest is still emblazoned above the Old Hall?s front door, cut into a stone arch he imported from Italy.
But the Hall is more than just a museum, providing spacious accommodation. The formal gardens are quite spectacular: an arch through a hedge leads to a knot garden with roses, herbs and a central dovecote. Overlooking the garden is a charming orangery and there is a good range of outbuildings and office space as well as a useful block of land (3.5 acres). A gravelled drive leads to a parking area with a pretty ornamental fountain. Beyond is a partially walled grass paddock with a fence to the moat.
On the ground floor there is a traditional entrance vestibule with heavy front door, old flagstones and a fireplace with wood burning stove. A hardwood staircase leads to the upper floors and a passage leads off towards the three reception rooms. The drawing room has a broad inglenook and oak ceiling beams and French windows in the kitchen lead to a small but picturesque courtyard. Upstairs there are five spacious bedrooms, some with bathrooms.
For more information or to arrange a viewing please contact Smiths Gore on +44 (0)1325 370500.